How to change the V5 Certificate to “Motor Caravan” (aka camper van)

Do I need to notify DVLA that my Van is now a Camper Van? It’s a frequently asked question and the answer is yes and for several reasons, mostly which could benefit you.

Unfortunately, it’s a bit of a myth that it reduces your road tax fund.  In my experience there has been no difference to the road fun licence fee once changed to a “Motor Caravan”, but there may be savings with regards to your insurance and MOT charges.

You are also limited to 60 mph until the V5C certificate is amended.  After which, the national speed limit will apply.

What criteria must my conversion meet to become a motor caravan? The conversion must be a permanent conversion, i.e. you would not easily be able to return it to its original appearance.   In addition, it must contain some permanent fixtures which need to be photographed to support your claim.  Where ever possible, the photograph’s should include your number plate – i.e. if you have barn doors, photograph the inside of your van with the door showing the number plate in the closed position, or photograph the roof in the elevated position from the front of the vehicle, including the part of the vehicle showing the number plate.  The photo’s need to show without doubt that it is the same vehicle.

The last vehicle classification I successfully changed included pictures of:

* Sleeping accommodation – I photographed the Seat which transforms to a bed in the seat, bed and mid transformation positions (some of these pictures included the number plate off the barn door).  I pictured the elevating roof and bed in its open position from the outside (including the number plate) and the inside.

* Appliances – I included photo’s of the Fridge (door open), gas hob and sink.  These must be fully fitted (i.e. not in a removable unit) as an integral part of the conversion.

* Storage space – again, this must be permanently fixed.  Pictures of the cupboards etc.

* Gas bottle – I photographed the gas bottle inside it’s sealed gas container (the Sealed Gas container is a necessity).

* General photos – I photographed the van from all sides, with the doors open.  Showing the number plate where ever possible.  So the internal pictures could be linked to the same vehicle.

*Other seating – I included photo’s of the front seats in their swivelled position.

* Supporting documentation – I enclosed a letter to support my application and included a photocopy of the sales invoice for the Sealed Gas bottle, and the appliances/main fixtures.

This may not be a full list of specific requirements, and I can not guarantee if you follow this guide that your V5C will be amended, however it worked for me.  In my initial quest to find out how to change the body type, I did receive contrasting information on the necessary documentation and even procedures that must be followed (I was even told that I had to weigh the vehicle and provide a certificate to that effect from one source – which I did not do!).  There is also little or no information on the DVLA website about how to do this.  I just followed a common sense approach.

The wording on my supporting letter was as below:

“I would like to advise you of a change of vehicle body type from Panel Van to Motor Caravan.   I enclose the completed V5C certificate along with supporting photographic evidence of the permanent internal conversions into a camper van.  I specifically enclose photos of the gas bottle, and the sealed gas bottle box. For further support of our application, I enclose a copy of the invoice from the supplier for the main components of the conversion”

Complete the V5C certificate at section 7 in the box headed ‘wheelplan/Bodytype’ carefully entering ‘Motor Caravan’ a letter per box.  Sign and date the declaration at section 8 but only in the ‘Registered Keepers’ section.  Retain the right hand section of the form (detach along the perforations).

The V5C, your accompanying letter and all the photographs (simply printed from your own colour printer onto photo quality paper is fine) and photocopied receipts should then be posted to DVLA, Swansea, SA99 1BA.

It was a approximately 2 weeks and the amended certificate was returned to me.  Job done!

And regarding the Liquid Petroleum Gas (LPG) – If you are carrying LPG it is “good practice” to display a sticker on the outside of your van, near where the gas is located.  It is not the law (for small amounts which would cover what you are likely to be carrying in a camper van) , however, it will greatly assist the fire services should the need arise!  You should also carry a fire extinguisher – which all good conversions should include anyway.

On the flip side of that – if you are not carrying LPG (i.e. you remove the gas bottle for any reason) it is an offence to display a warning to the contrary!

About mark1conversions

Mark1 Conversions
This entry was posted in DVLA, Legal, LPG and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment